Valluvar Kottam – A Tribute to the Great Legend

Travelling with my family and friends and learning about history is what I enjoy the most. I also love trekking and wildlife. Photography is another of my passions and I never miss taking my SLR camera with me wherever I go.

Chennai is known to possess everything I look for such as the rich culture, temples, shopping places, best food and cuisines and many more. We also intended to do a lot of shopping at Chennai. During the next day we have planned to go to Valluvar Kottam . It took only about 30 minutes to reach this place.

Valluvar Kottam at Chennai

Valluvar Kottam at Chennai | Image Resource: wikipedia.org

In the morning I woke up early and enjoyed the rising sun sipping my favorite ginger tea as I do usually. I always looked for some historical places that can promise rich history, heritage and culture.

After breakfast we reached Valluvar Kottam where we took a cab to reach this place. We were accompanied by a guide from the hotel we stay, he explained everything to us. Valluvar Kottam was constructed in 1976 as tribute to the famous Tamil Poet Valluvar who lived in the first century BC. He was a legend and contributed several literary works to Tamil literature.

Valluvar Kottam is a very famous historical tombstone which is devoted to the veteran poet, and saint the Thiruvalluvar. He was a great philosopher too. Tirukural consist of 1334couplets necessary for human life. The Valluvar Kottam is built of 3000 stone blocks and all the 133 chapters of Thirukurals were inscribed in the front corridor. The monument was very beautiful as it was carved in the shape of the temple chariot and the statue of the legendry poet was housed in it.

We were surprised to see this historical commemoration for the poet we had an insightful experience visiting this beautiful place. Chennai is a very hot place but it has many things to offer, I dint too long to take see explore the valluvar kottam. I took many photos me and my family.

Chennai is the capital city of Tamil Nadu, moreover it is one of the important city and you can find huge shopping mall and other small streets where you can buy cloths. We went for a shopping and bought some cloths and handicrafts. Then we decided to visit chemmozhi poonga in the afternoon.

Leave a Reply

