Jama Masjid Lucknow – The Befitting Monument for the End of My Trip, Regal and Indispensible

This day had been the last for my trip and that was being painfully clear to me when I made my way to the Jama Masjid Lucknow. With this last sightseeing, my days of carefree exploration would come to an end and I would have to get back to the grind of everyday routine back in my Ahmedabad. As I was travelling to the place, the rest of the places that I had seen in my short albeit very fruitful trip flashed in front of my eyes. There were interesting historical places, alluring zoo, the memorial to our hero of the nation and so much more and all in one city- the jewels that our country has in the rest of the cities have not even been accounted for. I may try to plan more such trips but that would have to wait for the last sightseeing for the trip awaited me.

Jama Masjid Lucknow

Jama Masjid Lucknow | Image Resource : smsread.com/

Built in the year 1423 by Sultan Ahmed Shah, the Jama Masjid is made up of yellow sandstone and attracts the tourists because of its unique designs and craftsmanship. Standing imposingly in the heart of the city, it is undoubtedly a very important place for the Muslims to worship. Inspired by Hindu, Muslim and Jain influences, the architecture of the complex is nothing short of a marvel. The staggering specifics of the complex could boggle any builder for the Masjid is standing on 260 pillars which have fifteen arched domes to support. The courtyard or the main assembly where people accumulate for prayers is huge while there are western and eastern chambers too that are meant for different purposes. The revered tomb of Sultan Ahmed Shah finds its position in the eastern section.

The Jama Masjid Lucknow has been very diligently preserved and beautified and well kept by the authorities which makes it very attractive looking and at the same times preserves this ancient monument. The intricacy of the designs and the architectural prowess makes it undoubtedly a great monument of the yesteryears and holds special significance in the heart of every Muslims and will continue to do so till time immemorial.

Leave a Reply

