Kanch Mandir-Indore – Temple of Glass Paintings

On Thursday, I decided to take the day off and explore the city and the remaining sightseeing places that were there to see. I knew that Kanch Mandir opened at 5AM. I woke up at 4.30 AM, ordered for a cup of tea, had a shower and by 5 AM, I was on my way to Kanch Mandir.

Entrance Of Kanch Mandir Indore

Entrance Of Kanch Mandir Indore | Image Resource : flickr.com/photos/12321267@N05/5419435349

As soon as I walked into the temple, I was awe-struck by the sight that met me. Kanch Mandir, as the name suggests, is a temple that has various glass paintings and artefacts in every nook and corner. Since I reached there at the time when the sun was just rising, the sight was even more mind blowing! I felt like I was sitting inside a rainbow and the various colors that reflected from the glass created an effect that I cannot describe.

Kanch Mandir Indore

Kanch Mandir Indore | Image Resource : wikimedia.org

This is a Jain temple and since it was clear that I would have to maintain absolute silence here and respect the people in the temple, I decided not to take any pictures. Anyway, no amount of photos would do justice other than visiting it in person to see its beauty.

As I walked around, I read that the temple originated in the early 20th Century. The entire exterior of the temple is white in colour and a person standing outside would not know that the interior would offer such a beautiful sight! The flooring inside the temple has complete mosaic glass tiles.

There are numerous murals on the pillars, walls and even the floor and these depict the various teachings of the religion. Several other glass paintings tell the stories from the Hindu scriptures. One particular mural is worth mentioning here. On one side of the wall, a mural depicted the earth, heaven and hell. There was no need of explanation-the painting had such details that everyone could understand it. There were almost 50 murals in the temple and each mural told a story from the Jain scripture.

Lord Mahavira is the main deity here. The idol of the lord, made from black onyx, has several glass beads adorning it.  I also saw several lantern-type glass lamps and glass chandeliers that were in the temple. The Kanch Mandir is about 600 metres from Rajwada. However, I planned my trip in such a way that I would get to visit each place during the best time of the day. And I am glad that I visited the Glass Temple in the morning!

Leave a Reply

