Lal Bagh Palace-Indore – An Unforgettable Place

I finished my breakfast and around 10.15AM, I directed the cab driver to take me to Lal Bagh. The Lal Bagh Palace stood majestically and its construction produced an aura of the bygone eras. The entry fee is Rs.10/-, which I paid and entered through the huge gates.

Lal Bagh Palace

Lal Bagh Palace | Image Resource : flickr.com/photos/axelrd/10372944655

Interestingly, the gates are the exact replica of the Buckingham palace. As per the travel book, I read that they did the casting for the gates in England and later shipped them to India. The palace stands on a 60-plus acre of land and is very beautiful.

I remember reading that Maharaja Shivaji Rao Holkar built this particular palace. It is a best example of how and where the royalties lived earlier. The palace built around the 1800s had a very rich look. Once inside, I actually felt that I was experiencing royalty.

Lal Bagh Palace Indore

Lal Bagh Palace Indore | Image Resource : flickr.com/photos/gautamjpatel/8223791136

The ceiling, which has hand-paintings of Indian and European art, is very eye-catching. The more I looked at the raised ceiling, the more beautiful it looked. The windows and the chandeliers reflected the Belgian art. There were several paintings and artefacts on the walls.

Going around, I saw a ballroom that was nothing but huge!  There was an English library with an armchair. This is where the members of the royal families came to read and relax, I thought smiling. Oh! What fun it must have been!

The Palace has a huge sitting room with sofas and a Palladian queen’s bedroom. There is an underground route to the kitchen. Columns of Italian marbles on the walls and floor actually made me understand how rich and artistic the royal rulers were! I had the opportunity to look at some of the items of that age.

Right outside, there is a large garden and it was such a good feeling to walk around there. Very close to the palace, there is a big statue of Queen Victoria! The entire place gives a feel of the Victorian age.

The Palace is now a place for holding important events of the city. As a museum, it is open to the public for exploring. It was such a pity that they did not allow me to take photographs of the place. Around 12PM, I was out of the Palace and on my way to the cab.

Leave a Reply

